Pace named editor of The Logan Banner

Pace named editor of The Logan Banner

LOGAN, W.Va. – Veteran West Virginia journalist Fred Pace has been named editor of The Logan Banner newspaper, effective Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015. The announcement was made by Jim Lawitz, vice president of editorial operations for Civitas Media, the newspaper’s parent company.

“He knows all of the key players in local government as well as smaller community organizations,” Lawitz said. “He’s got the right mix of journalism experience to lead this newsroom effectively.”

Lawitz said his past work experience at the Banner will aid his success.

“I look forward to coming back to the Logan newspaper,” Pace said. “Logan County has always had a special place in my heart. It’s full of wonderful communities with caring and hard working families and individuals. It has a wonderful and rich history, culture and heritage. I look forward to working with the community and covering issues and news important to them.”

Pace has more than 30 years’ experience in the newspaper industry. He most recently was editor of the Coal Valley News in Madison. Prior to that he was the business editor of The Register Herald in Beckley.

Joshua Byers, Civitas Media regional content director, said a national search led back to current staff who were already familiar with the people and the area.

“Fred has always stepped up and helped the Logan newsroom from time to time recently and ultimately, he’s the best person for the job,” Byers said. “His knowledge of the community is a huge asset.”

Pace will redirect resources to provide improved coverage on issues of local interest and play a key role in leading the newspaper editorial department’s day-to-day operation.

Located in Davidson, N.C., Civitas Media has more than 100 publications, many of which have served their communities for more than a century. Civitas, Latin for “community” or “citizen,” employs more than 1,200 associates across 12 states including North Carolina, South Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Illinois, Missouri, Virginia, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Georgia, Kentucky and Tennessee.